4th Annual Vintage Hickory Invitational – Record Attendance
By AP National Golf Club Admin
May 2nd, 2016
Due to overwhelming success of the Seattle Golf Show and National Hickory Day initiative,
attendance and participation at the 4th Annual Vintage Hickory Invitational was a new record.

4th Vintage Hickory Invitaional Field
4th Vintage Hickory Invitaional Field

The contestants of the 4th Annual Vintage Hickory Invitation (Photo by Mike Dorgan)

A few months prior to National Hickory Day, AP National President Durel Billy had
secured a booth at the Seattle Golf and Show at the Centurylink Field Event Center.
More than 500 people took their first hickory swings at the show and more than a
dozen of them showed up May 1st to celebrate National Hickory Day and play in the
tournament. Attendance increased 53% from 26 hickory golfers to 40 – a true
testament to the success of the Seattle Golf Show and interest in National Hickory
As for the tournament, the weather was outstanding and the course played true to
the test.
SoHG member Brian Giboney won the overall a 2nd year in the row with a round of
75. Brian recorded 3 birdies during the round and had this to say after the
tournament: “This was such a great event. So many new faces in part to the Seattle Golf
Show and people participating in National Hickory Day. I had not been playing very good
hickory lately, but for some reason Meadow Park brings out the best in me. There is
something about this course. Typically courses as tree lined as this one eat my lunch, but
whatever it is about this 1915 gem – I like it. Had great conversation with my marker Barry
Field during the round. I learned he played college football in the 1960’s for the Arizona
Wildcats and caught 12 passes in his career. Was a fun day out there.”
Here are the overall scores followed by the divisional winners:
Overall Scores:
1. Brian Giboney 75 (73/T6)
2. Durel Billy 78 (68/T1)
3. Jim Everham 81 (76/T13)
4. Devin Harmala 82 (68/T1)
5. Mr. Barry Field 85 (69/3)
6. Karl Albrecht 86 (86/T20)
T7. Mr. Dennis Tom Scott 88 (74/T8)
T7. Gene Pavola 88 (74/T8)
9. Carl Bronkema 89 (79/T16)
T10. Mr. Mike Wisniewski 90 (73/T6)
T10. Bob Marlatt 90 (74/T8)
T12. Dave Simmons 91 (77/15)
T12. Steve Floyd 91 (91/24)
14. John Tepper 92 (92/25)
T15. Chris Goodman 93 (84/19)
T15. Greg Mason 93 (93/26)
T17. Mike Kemppainen 94 (89/23)
T17. Mark Terney 94 (74/T8)
19. Steve Palmer 95 (79/T16)
20. Bob Kostenbauder 96 (96/T27)
T21. Jerry T Olson 97 (79/T16)
T21. Steve Malmquist 97 (97/29)
T21. Ben Bates 97 (71/T4)
T24. Clinton Steed 99 (99/30)
T24. Tom Finch 99 (75/12)
26. Ron Mahugh 102 (71/T4)
27. Steven Fambles 105 (76/T13)
T28. Larry Borgert 106 (86/T20)
T28. Jim Dealy 106 (87/22)
T30. Tom Hogan 110 (96/T27)
T30. Greg Lunde 110 (110/31)
32. Jared Steed 113 (113/32)
33. Steve Turcotte NC (NC/T33)
33. Jayson Lunde NC (NC/T33)
33. Derek Lunde NC (NC/T33)
33. C Steed NC (NC/T33)
33. Chris Fitzsimmons NC (NC/T33)
38. Jon Shields WD (WD/38)
39. Ralph Potter WD (WD/T39)
39. Gary Hollins WD (WD/T39)
Divisional Break Down and Champions
2 Time Open Division Champion Brian Giboney Gross 75
Open Low Net Devin Harmala 68
Senior Champion Jim Everham Gross 81
Senior Low Net Barry Field 69
Novice Champion Karl Albrecht Gross 86
Novice Low Net Gene Pavola 74
Novice 2nd Low Net Clinton Steed 75
MVP Kathy Marlatt
So there you have it, the 4th Annual Vintage Hickory Invitational is in the books.
Participation is up, National Hickory Day was a big success, and we should all ride
this hickory wave to grow the game we love so much.

MORE PHOTOS! by Russ Carmack